Positive Images

rear-view-mirrorHappy New Year Y’all!!! I know I’m a little late. But the sentiment is still there right?

If you’re like me, you will reflect on the past year—remember the good times and flinch or frown at the bad. Some things we had no control of, others we most certainly did. By going over what wasn’t so great, we can move on to the new year vowing to make it better.

People use the word “reflect” in many ways. Now, I being a Southerner and having just a touch of an accent, might say “let me think on it” for a while. So I’m reflecting. I’m considering my options, I’m figuring something out, but basically, I’m reflecting. We look ourselves in the mirror (either figuratively or literally) and there lies our reflection.

There are quite a few definitions of the word:

  • To turn into or away from
  • To prevent passage of a cause to change direction
  • To give back or exhibit an image, likeness or outline
  • To bring or case as a result
  • To manifest or make apparent
  • To realize, consider
  • To tend to bring reproach or discredit
  • To bring about a specified appearance
  • To have influence

If I put up the 2016 mirror, I’d reflect on what I did that was good for me last year—like ate healthier, lost some weight, and moved with my husband, dog and cat, out of the traffic into a smaller home in a quieter setting. Yay me! How about you? Can you pick out the good from the past crazy year?

Reflecting can be healthy – at least it is for some. In my second manuscript entitled, Relative Consequences, which is currently being red-marked with abandon by a professional editor, the main character, Jessy, a strong women going through a family tragedy, has trouble reflecting on her past. She struggles to remember a childhood even though she has nightmares and anxiety attacks because of it. With the help of a professional, she unlocks her mind so she can realize her fears and deal with them. It is an indication of a negative reflection leading to a positive outcome.

Rita, the other strong female character in the story, chooses to forget her past simply refusing her reality. That kind of reflection, although on purpose and in this case questionable, might work for her. She’s all for doing things the easy way. Her reflections are minimal and she ignores any effort to let the past get in her way.

Each woman has a different reflection of her past propelling her into the future.

crazy-old-ladyAlthough I’m not a Pollyanna (I’m dating myself aren’t I?), I try to stay in a positive frame of mind, even when the negative seems to rule everyone’s daily lives, all over social media, on TV, or in the news. It’s a challenge day in and day out. Personally, for this New Year, I resolve to make 2017 the best I can even knowing there are gobs of things of which I have no control. I will stay positive, keep hopeful and faithful, and use my time reflecting on the good.

How about you?

Holding up that mirror, whether looking at the past year or a lifetime of memories, I see my reflection. My reaction to it is really all up to me.

Beginning in February, I will post two blogs. (Holding breath). I’m in the process of rounding up some wonderful authors to be guest bloggers  once a month in 2017.

See you around Valentine’s Day!!

Thanks for stopping by,

Jody

Leave a Reply

